70th anniversary of the Schuman Declaration, 9 May 1950

Signing of the ECSC Treaty

On 18 April 1951, the ECSC Treaty was signed and sealed in Paris by Robert Schuman for France, Konrad Adenauer for the Federal Republic of Germany, Paul van Zeeland and Joseph Meurice for Belgium, Count Carlo Sforza for Italy, Joseph Bech for Luxembourg and Dirk Stikker and Jan Van den Brink for the Netherlands.

Its preamble incorporated substantial sections of the declaration of 9 May. Concluded for a period of 50 years, the treaty was a clear, sober document. Schuman’s decisive role in securing this diplomatic success earned him the sobriquet ‘Father of Europe’.