70th anniversary of the Schuman Declaration, 9 May 1950

Entry into force of the ECSC Treaty

The treaty established the following institutions: a High Authority assisted by an Advisory Committee, a Common Assembly, a Court of Justice and a Special Council of Ministers. Following the signing of the treaty, it remained for the Six to resolve the practical questions concerning the seats of the institutions.

In the absence of a definitive agreement, Luxembourg agreed to host the High Authority, the Council and the Court of Justice of the ECSC, whilst the seat of the Common Assembly was established in Strasbourg. The ECSC Treaty, which entered into force on 25 July 1952, barely seven years after the end of the Second World War, is the mould from which today’s European Union was formed.